NORTH BEND — Arlington held off the challenge of Logan View and North Bend to win the C-3 district wrestling championship.

The Eagles finished with 166 points and qualified eight for this week’s state meet. Logan View qualified nine and finished with 163. North Bend was third with 146.5 and will send six to the CenturyLink Center, starting on Thursday.

Hunter Gilmore (106 pounds), Josh Miller (132) and Remington Gay (195) won championships for the Eagles. Gilmore beat Dru Mueller of Logan View 6-1 for the title while Miller edged Chase Smith of Gibbon 2-1.

Gay earned a 9-8 decision over Wyatt Kee of Gibbon.

Talon Mues of the Eagles was the runner-up at 145. He lost 9-6 to Jacob Ray of North Bend in the title match.

Kobe Wilkins (160) finished third while Trevor Cooley (113), Blake Grefe (138) and Clayton Koch (170) were fourth.

Luis Hernandez-Jimenez was the lone champion for the Raiders. He won by technical fall over Drake Belville of Doniphan-Trumbull 17-2 at 113.

Nolan Miller (152) and Brady Hull (170) joined Mueller as LV runner-up finishers. Miller lost 8-0 to Jacob Tracy of Gibbon while Hull, ranked second in Class C, lost 5-0 to third-ranked Joel Hines of North Bend.

Alex Miller (285) and Beau Kaup (132) were third-place finishers for the Raiders. Martin Valencia (120), Hunter McNulty (126) and Eric French (182) placed fourth.

Ray and Hines were just two of the four champions for the Tigers.

Zach Borer pinned Blake Moore of Tekamah-Herman in 1:51 of the finals at 160. Dalton Mueller won by technical fall (18-2) over Luke Fairbanks of Wahoo Neumann in the 182 title match.

Mason Witt earned a 6-4 decision over Cooley in the third-place match at 113. Brandon Wardman pinned Grefe in 2:26 of the third-place match at 138.


C-3 at North Bend Central


Arlington 166-8, Logan View 163-9, North Bend Central 146½-6, Syracuse 102-4, Wood River 100-4, Gibbon 95½-4, Tekamah-Herman 89-4, Wakefield-Allen 74-3, Superior 57½-3, Cross County/Osceola 53-2, Doniphan-Trumbull 51-2, Bishop Neumann 47-1, Ponca 45-2, Laurel-Concord-Coleridge 27-2, Wisner-Pilger 21-1, Winnebago 20-1.


106—1. Hunter Gilmore, Arlington, dec. Dru Mueller, Logan View, 6-1. 3. Carson Thompson, Wood River, dec. Spencer Bridgmon, Syracuse, 8-5.

113—1. Luis Hernandez-Jimenez, Logan View, won by tech. fall over Drake Belville, Doniphan-Trumbull, 17-2, 4:19. 3. Mason Witt, North Bend Central, dec. Trevor Cooley, Arlington, 6-4.

120—1. Brandon Schram, Tekamah-Herman, dec. Cesar Sandoval, Wakefield-Allen, 4-1. 3. Usama Erickson, Superior, dec. Martin Valencia, Logan View, 12-5.

126—1. Austen Spike, Doniphan-Trumbull, dec. Cristian Carranza, Cross County/Osceola, 5-1. 3. Lane Brown, Gibbon, pinned Hunter McNulty, Logan View, 4:13.

132—1. Josh Miller, Arlington, dec. Chase Smith, Gibbon, 2-1. 3. Beau Kaup, Logan View, dec. Bryce Reed, Cross County/Osceola, 7-2.

138—1. Max Hughes, Syracuse, dec. Evan Waddington, Wood River, 4-2. 3. Brandon Wardman, North Bend Central, pinned Blake Grefe, Arlington, 2:26.

145—1. Jacob Ray, North Bend Central, dec. Talon Mues, Arlington, 9-6. 3. Isaac Verzani, Wakefield-Allen, dec. Chase Morris, Superior, 5-4.

152—1. Jacob Tracy, Gibbon, maj. dec. Nolan Miller, Logan View, 8-0. 3. Trent Tietjen, Superior, dec. Camden Thompson, Wood River, 4-2.

160—1. Zachary Borer, North Bend Central, pinned Blake Moore, Tekamah-Herman, 1:51. 3. Kobe Wilkins, Arlington, pinned Walter Messerlie, Ponca, 3:26.

170—1. Joel Hines, North Bend Central, dec. Brady Hull, Logan View, 5-0. 3. Max Hansen, Tekamah-Herman, pinned Clayton Koch, Arlington, 2:20.

182—1. Dalton Mueller, North Bend Central, won by tech. fall over Luke Fairbanks, Bishop Neumann, 18-2, 4:00. 3. Nate Snyder, Syracuse, pinned Eric French, Logan View, 6:42.

195—1. Remington Gay, Arlington, dec. Wyatt Kee, Gibbon, 9-8. 3. Michael Hegge, Ponca, pinned Derek Conety, Tekamah-Herman, 1:07.

220—1. Diego Guerrero, Wood River, dec. Ethan Williams, Laurel-Concord-Coleridge, 9-3. 3. Julio Sanchez, Wakefield-Allen, dec. Landon Beaver, Wisner-Pilger, 5-2.

285—1. Caleb Lefferdink, Syracuse, pinned Derrell Zagurski, Winnebago, :36. 3. Alex Miller, Logan View, pinned Zach Dietrich, Laurel-Concord-Coleridge, 3:21.


Sports Editor

Load comments