The Fremont USBC Open Bowling Championship Tournament concluded its two-week on Feb. 4 at 30 Bowl.

Ryan Karr had the best individual performance as he won the All Events title for the first time in his career. He had a score of 2,235 pins.

Karr had his best series in the team event with a 776, including a 300 in the third game. That helped Pak Mail win the scratch team event with a 3,389. Other team members included: Ronie Hansen, Roy Swatzell, Mark Mueller and Jeremy Mruz.

Karr had his second-best series of 740. That helped Karr and Billy Lowther III win the scratch doubles event with a 1,476.

Tyler Kotrous had the highest series of the tournament with a 797. Kotrous and Bryan Sindelar joined forces to win the handicap added doubles event with a 1,548.

Royce Walter bowled a 682 series to lead Architectural Innovations to the handicap added team championship with a 3,663. Other team members include: Don Simon, Jason Youmans, Ralph Knobbe and Jerry Nelson.

Mark McKenzie, coming back from a bowling-related foot injury, won the scratch singles with a 778.

John Leffler, bowling in the last squad of the tournament, was just short of the scratch lead with a 771, but did win the handicap added event with a series of 831.

Other bowlers with 300 games included Jeromy Timme, Alan Shovan and Randy Brand.

Championship awards and cash prizes will be presented during the annual Bowlers Hall of Fame banquet on March 3 at the Fremont Golf Club. Tickets are now on sale at 30 Bowl or from committee members.


Sports Editor

Load comments