Try 3 months for $3
Voting photo

PLATTSMOUTH – Alan Horn has won a seat on the Weeping Water School Board after provisional ballots were counted following the Nov. 6 general election.

Horn trailed Robyn Larson by one vote 313 to 314 after votes were counted when polls closed on that day. However, when provisional ballots were counted later, Horn ended up with 324 to 317 for Larson. They were competing for the third and final board seat up for election.

Mark Rathe and Brandon Nash remained the top two vote getters following the provisional counting to earn seats on the board.

Following the provisional counting for the Plattsmouth School Board, Cory Wehrbein, Max Muller, Bob Fuller and Steve Barr finished in that order just like they did in the general election for the four contested seats. The final tally after the provisional votes was Wehrbein with 2,148 votes, Muller with 1,582, Fuller with 1,508 and Barr with 1,338.

For the Louisville School Board race in which three seats were up, incumbent Kara Habrock finished with 877 votes, newcomer Andy Mixan finished with 872 and incumbent Cindy Osterloh finished with 776.

For the Conestoga School Board with three seats up for election, Tracey Priefert finished first with 1,117 votes and Jason Nolting finished with 1,098 votes. They were the only two candidates on the ballot.

For the Elmwood-Murdock School Board in which three seats were up for election, David Oehlerking finished with 658 votes, Mark Meyer finished with 655 and Jesse Rust finished with 633.

For the U.S. Senate seat, Republican incumbent Deb Fischer finished with 6,784 votes following the provisional count, while Democratic challenger Jane Raybould finished with 3,392.

For the District 1 seat in the U.S. House of Representatives, Republican incumbent Jeff Fortenberry finished with 7,210 votes and Democratic challenger Jessica McClure finished with 3,346.

For the District 2 seat in the Nebraska Legislature, Robert Clements finished with 5,260 votes after the provisional count with Susan Lorence finishing with 3,822.

For the two seats that were contested for the Plattsmouth City Council, Douglas Derby, Sr. finished with 206 votes to win Ward 3, while Morgan Muller finished with 200 votes to win Ward 4.

For the two seats up for election for the Weeping Water City Council, Michael Kindle finished with 275 votes, while Kelly Nutter finished with 273.

For the two open seats on the Louisville City Council, Rod Petersen finished with 344 votes, while Jerry McClun finished with 265.

For the District 2 seat on the Cass County Board of Commissioners, the only contested race, Janet McCartney finished with 1,748 votes to Brad Cowan’s 610.

Altogether, 10,750 ballots were cast among 17,939 registered voters in Cass County for a turnout of 59.93 percent.

Linn Moore, the county’s election commissioner, said all went well at the different voting precincts and praised those who worked at the polls.

“I have a wonderful team,” she said on Friday. “They did everything they were supposed to do. I feel blessed.”

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments