Try 1 month for 99¢

PLATTSMOUTH – Plattsmouth will have a new city council member in Morgan Muller for Ward 4, while incumbent Douglas Derby, Sr. held off a challenge from James Forrest to retain his seat in Ward 3.

These were the two contested wards in Tuesday’s city council general election with two other members returning as they were unopposed in their respective wards.

Meanwhile, R. Paul Lambert will return as Plattsmouth’s mayor having run unopposed in that race.

Muller defeated David Splonskowski 197 votes to 119.

Muller said on Wednesday he was grateful for the support from the voters in his ward.

“I’m looking forward to go to work,” Muller said. “I’ll do my best for them.”

Like any new job, there will be a learning curve for him on the council, Muller said, adding that two things most important to him will be “transparency and public engagement.”

In Ward 3, Derby defeated Forrest 205 votes to 170.

Sean Minahan ran unopposed in the Ward 1 race receiving 358 votes out of 366 that were cast. The others were write-in votes.

It was the same situation for Ward 2 as incumbent Jeanie Brookhouser received all but eight of the 386 votes that were cast.

Lambert received 1,480 votes with write-ins totaling 55 votes.

In Louisville, Rod Petersen, with 344 votes, and Jerry McClun, with 265, were the only two candidates for the two seats up for election on that city council.

In the Weeping Water City Council race in which there were four candidates for two seats, Michael Kindle was the top winner receiving 275 votes, while Kelly Nutter finished second with 273 votes.

“I’m really excited and look forward to starting,” Kindle said.

Besides putting up yard signs about his candidacy, Kindle said being involved in the community in various ways since moving there three years ago no doubt helped.

“Right now, I’m delivering meals in the community,” Kindle said by phone Wednesday morning.

Like others in the community, Kindle said, “I would like a grocery store in town.”

Michael Barrett, who ran unopposed, will return as Weeping Water’s mayor as he received 306 votes with write-ins totaling 18 votes.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments