Try 1 month for 99¢
Five Cass County schools

Cass County residents cast ballots for candidates in multiple school board races Tuesday as part of the general election.

The results produced a variety of incumbent winners and new faces on the local boards. The totals came after a large number of Cass County citizens participated in the voting process. Voter turnout in Cass County this year was 59.93 percent. There were a total of 17,939 registered voters and 10,750 ballots cast.


Incumbent Jason Nolting and newcomer Tracey Priefert each won seats on the Conestoga Board of Education. The majority of votes came from Cass County but there were a handful of votes cast in Otoe County as well.

Priefert received 1,117 Cass County votes and four Otoe County votes for a total of 1,121. Nolting received 1,098 Cass County votes and one Otoe County vote. Conestoga patrons cast 150 write-in votes during the day.


Incumbents Dave Oehlerking, Jesse Rust and Mark Meyer all retained their spots on the Elmwood-Murdock Board of Education. Oehlerking is the current board president, Meyer is board secretary and Rust is a board member.

Oehlerking received 656 Cass County votes and nine Otoe County votes for a total of 665. Meyer received 654 Cass County votes and nine Otoe County votes for a total of 663. Rust received 632 Cass County votes and nine Otoe County votes for a total of 641.

Elmwood-Murdock patrons cast 30 votes for write-in candidates.


Four candidates were on the ballot for three seats on the Louisville Board of Education. Incumbents Cindy Osterloh and Kara Habrock each won re-election and newcomer Andy Mixan was named to a spot on the board.

The vast majority of Louisville’s district is contained in Cass County, but there were a handful of votes cast by Sarpy County residents as well. Mixan received 875 total votes and Habrock received 873 votes. Osterloh captured the third spot with 779 votes. Micah Kohles finished the evening with 587 votes.


Seven candidates competed in a race for four spots on the Plattsmouth Board of Education. Cory Wehrbein was the lone incumbent in the field. He generated the most votes with a total of 2,136.

Max Muller (1,574), Bob Fuller (1,495) and Steve Barr (1,332) secured the three remaining seats on the board. Bridgett Miller (1,240), Tabitha Foster (1,201) and Chris Smith (1,027) all surpassed 1,000 votes during the day. Cass County residents cast 63 write-in votes.

Weeping Water

The race for spots on the Weeping Water Board of Education was one of the closest contests of the evening. Six candidates competed for three seats on the board. Alan Horn and Robyn Larson were incumbents and April Cave, James Garner, Brandon Nash and Mark Rathe were new candidates for board positions.

Rathe secured the most votes with 369. Nash (367) and Larson (314) also finished in the top three spots of the race. Horn (313), Cave (276) and Garner (255) all collected more than 250 votes during the day. Weeping Water patrons cast 14 write-in votes for school board spots.

Other Races

Cass County residents cast ballots in races featuring districts with headquarters outside of Cass County. These included Ashland-Greenwood, Nebraska City, Syracuse-Dunbar-Avoca and Waverly.

The Ashland-Greenwood race featured four candidates: Tom Walsh, Karen Stille, Ally Miller and Jerry Wall. Cass County residents cast 426 votes for Stille, 330 for Walsh, 298 for Miller and 229 for Wall.

The totals in Saunders County were 454 for Stille, 400 for Walsh, 336 for Miller and 227 for Wall. Stille (880 total votes), Walsh (730) and Miller (634) all gained seats on the board. Wall finished with 456 overall votes.

Kent Blum, Teri Stukenholtz and Stacie Higgins were the three candidates for Nebraska City Board of Education. Higgins (74), Blum (71) and Stukenholtz (68) all received votes in Cass County.

Higgins received 2,192 votes in Otoe County and 2,266 overall. Stukenholtz received 2,162 votes in Otoe County and 2,230 overall. Blum received 2,040 votes in Otoe County and 2,111 overall. All three candidates earned spots on the board.

Barry Janssen, Greg Mueller, Edward Zastera and Ryan McIntosh were the four candidates for the Syracuse Board of Education. There were three open spots on the organization.

Mueller (40), Janssen (39), Zastera (30) and McIntosh (29) all received votes in Cass County. Janssen received 1,182 Otoe County votes and 1,221 overall. Mueller received 1,149 Otoe County votes and 1,189 overall. Zastera received 1,097 Otoe County votes and 1,127 overall. McIntosh received 932 Otoe County votes and 961 overall.

Scott Claycomb and Brandi Humphrey competed for a single spot in Ward 3 of the Waverly Board of Education. Claycomb received 222 votes and Humphrey received 205 votes in Cass County.

Jessica Fountain Zuniga won a spot in Ward 1 and Chad Kendall won a Ward 5 seat on the Waverly board. Both of those elections took place in Lancaster County.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments