Try 3 months for $3
2018 All-EMC Softball Selections from Plattsmouth

ASHLAND – Five Plattsmouth softball players learned Thursday morning that they had received league recognition for their work during the 2018 season.

Eastern Midlands Conference coaches selected players for All-EMC and honorable mention teams during a league meeting in Ashland Wednesday night. Athletes from Bennington, Blair, Elkhorn, Gretna, Norris, Nebraska City, Plattsmouth and Waverly earned awards.

PHS senior Adyson Blecke was named to the All-EMC Team. Blecke became Plattsmouth’s all-time leader in single-season runs scored (35), total bases (82) and slugging percentage (.812). She batted .455 with 22 singles, 18 doubles and six home runs. She drove in 31 runs, drew 12 walks and had a .509 on-base percentage.

Blecke compiled the second-best fielding percentage (.937) of any infielder in Plattsmouth history. She made 102 defensive assists from her shortstop position and was involved in a pair of double plays.

Plattsmouth seniors Alyx Curran-Lewis and Haylee Heim, junior Sydni Haugaard and sophomore Paige Druskis were honorable mention selections.

Curran-Lewis delivered multiple defensive highlights for Plattsmouth in left field. She produced the top fielding percentage (.978) of any outfielder in PHS history and made 44 catches.

Curran-Lewis became Plattsmouth’s all-time leader in single-season hits (49) and runs batted in (38), and she finished second in runs scored (34) and total bases (78). She batted .476 and had a .518 on-base percentage during the year. She delivered 31 singles, 12 doubles, one triple, five home runs and nine walks.

Heim became Plattsmouth’s all-time leader in single-season on-base percentage with a .546 mark. She finished second in PHS history in season batting average (.484) and tied Blecke for third in the hits category with 46.

Heim generated 32 singles, nine doubles, three triples, two home runs, 23 RBI and nine walks. She was also struck by pitches four times.

Heim posted a .944 fielding percentage and led the Blue Devils with 144 innings in the pitching circle. She appeared in 30 games and compiled a 5.79 earned run average with 90 strikeouts. She yielded 224 hits, 70 walks and 119 earned runs.

Druskis batted .410 and had a .449 on-base percentage for Plattsmouth. She produced 35 singles, four doubles, two triples, six walks, ten RBI and 26 runs scored.

Druskis made 49 putouts in center field during the season. She also struck out three batters in six innings as a pitcher.

Haugaard ended the season with a .397 batting average and .479 on-base percentage. She collected 17 singles, five doubles, one triple, two home runs, six walks, 12 RBI and six runs scored. She was also struck by pitches four times.

Haugaard served as Plattsmouth’s starting catcher this season. She produced a .989 fielding percentage behind the plate.

2018 All-Eastern Midlands Conference Softball Selections

Laurin Miller – Bennington – Junior

Taylor Sedlacek – Bennington – Freshman

Katie Gosker – Blair – Senior

Cayla Nielsen – Blair – Senior

Ali Blum – Blair – Senior

Rachel Bruner – Elkhorn – Senior

Cassie Coltvet – Elkhorn – Senior

Jadyn Hunt – Elkhorn – Senior

Sydney Nuismer – Elkhorn – Junior

Ella Dalton – Elkhorn – Freshman

Brooke Andrews – Gretna – Senior

Emily Reid – Gretna – Senior

Billie Andrews – Gretna – Junior

Maeya Gydesen – Gretna – Junior

McKenzie Roy – Norris – Senior

Carli Kohout – Norris – Junior

Olivia Ozenbaugh – Norris – Junior

Mackenzie Anthens – Nebraska City – Senior

Adyson Blecke – Plattsmouth – Senior

Val Gerlach – Waverly – Senior

Jordyn Boehler – Waverly – Senior

Kennedi Claycomb – Waverly – Junior

2018 All-Eastern Midlands Conference Softball Honorable Mention Selections

Kyleigh Boever – Bennington – Senior

Madalyn Elwood – Bennington – Junior

Avril Blume – Bennington – Junior

Samantha MacDonald – Blair – Junior

Lina Scott – Blair – Junior

Lyndsay Rahlds – Blair – Junior

Payton Cooley – Elkhorn – Junior

Jaycee Schutte – Elkhorn – Sophomore

Ari Crafton – Elkhorn – Sophomore

Ensley Frame – Gretna – Freshman

Carly Pfitzer – Gretna – Senior

Grace Buffington – Gretna – Sophomore

Taylor Moyer – Nebraska City – Senior

Sydney Schmitz – Nebraska City – Senior

Patricia Trice – Nebraska City – Junior

Elizabeth Hodges – Nebraska City – Junior

Abby Balfour – Nebraska City – Junior

Anastasia Krueger – Norris – Senior

Taryn Tracy – Norris – Junior

Taylor McMurray – Norris – Sophomore

Alexis Wiggins – Norris – Sophomore

Delaney White – Norris – Freshman

Haylee Heim – Plattsmouth – Senior

Alyx Curran-Lewis – Plattsmouth – Senior

Sydni Haugaard – Plattsmouth – Junior

Paige Druskis – Plattsmouth – Sophomore

Mac Steckelberg – Waverly – Senior

Tayler Beetison – Waverly – Senior

Sydni Schernikau – Waverly – Senior

Kayla Blake – Waverly – Senior

Micki Larsen – Waverly – Senior

Kendall Hartley – Waverly – Junior

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments