Country music will once again be rocking at the Washington County Fair.

For the third year in a row, the Washington County Fair Board will be bringing in big-name country music artists to Arlington for the fair.

The fair board announced this week that Tyler Farr and Rhett Akins will co-headline a concert on Friday, July 26, during the 101st Washington County Fair which runs July 26-31.

Farr and Akins will play in the main arena at the fairgrounds. Gates will open at 6:30 p.m. with Rhett Atkins performing at 7:30 p.m. and Tyler Farr at 9 p.m.

Dylan Bloom will perform in the beer garden following the concert.

Tickets will be $30 through Feb. 14 and can be purchased online at www.washingtoncountyfairne.com. Starting Feb. 15, tickets will be $35.

In 2017, the Washington County Fair featured American Idol winner Scotty McCreery. Country music star Kip Moore helped celebrate the 150th fair in 2018,

Country music enthusiasts will get two well-known artists this year.

Farr has three No. 1 songs to his credit: “A Guy Walks into a Bar,” “Redneck Crazy” and “Whiskey In My Water,” his first No. 1 as a songwriter.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Farr’s second album, “Suffer in Peace,” debuted in 2015 in the top five on both the Billboard Top 200 Albums and Billboard Country Albums Charts.

His debut album, “Redneck Crazy,” released in 2013, landed at No. 2 on the Billboard Country Albums Chart and No. 5 on the Billboard Top 200, making Farr the only solo male country artist in the last 10 years to have his first two studio albums debut in the top five on the Billboard 200 Chart.

His single, “Love By The Moon,” arrived at country radio in April 2018 and was produced by Sugarland’s Kristian Bush.

Akins is best known for his song, “That Ain’t My Truck,” his first No. 1 hit which he also co-wrote. The following year he released “Somebody New” which produced another No. 1 hit, “Don’t Get Me Started.”

In addition to being a successful solo artist, Akins also has written chart toppers for many big names on the music scene.

He has written 29 No. 1 singles. Some of them include Luke Bryan’s “I Don’t Want This Night to End” and “Huntin’ Fishin’ and Lovin’ Every Day, Chris Young’s “I Can Take it From There,” Justin Moore’s “Point at You,” Dustin Lynch’s “Mindreader” and Locash’s “I Know Somebody.”

Akins also is responsible for Blake Shelton’s “All About Tonight,” “Boys ‘Round Here” and “Honey Bee,” the latter of which spent a total of four weeks at No. 1.

Lynch’s “Small Town Boy” spent four weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard charts which became his 28th No. 1 single. Rhett celebrated his 29th No. 1 hit, “Life Changes,” with Thomas Rhett and fellow co-writers in October 2018.

Be the first to know - Sign up for News Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments