Try 1 month for 99¢
Local News

On Nov. 6, Nebraskans will head to the polls to vote in local, state and national races. The general election candidates consist of nominees who won their respective primary races, which were determined on May 15.

City of Fremont

For the city of Fremont, four council seats are on the ballot—although two seats feature races where one candidate is running unopposed, according to general election information from the county clerk’s office. Councilman Mark Legband is running unopposed for reelection in council ward one, which covers the northeast segment of Fremont, and newcomer Brad Yerger is running unopposed for a ward four seat—covering southeast Fremont—being vacated by the retiring Councilman John Anderson.

Ward two, which covers the northwest, is currently occupied by Councilman Steve Landholm, who has occupied the seat since 2014. Landholm, a retired electrician, faces a challenge from local businessman and owner of Milady Coffeehouse, Glen Ellis, who also ran in 2016. Ellis and Landholm advanced in the primary over a third candidate, Jim Bloom.

Ward three, covering the southwest portion of the city, features a race between incumbent Councilman and City Council President Scott Schaller and challenger Mark Jensen. The pair did not face a primary.

Dodge County

On the county level, Dodge County Attorney Oliver Glass, a Republican who prevailed in the primary matchup against attorney Bryan Meismer, now faces a challenge from Democrat Pamela Hopkins, a Fremont-based attorney. And Republican County Supervisor Lon Strand faces a challenge from Democrat Daniel Beerbohm, who also ran in 2014 as a Republican, according to a Tribune report at the time. Strand has served as the supervisor for district three, which includes rural areas like Hooper and Scribner, since 2006.

All other county races have only one candidate running. For the Dodge County Board of Supervisors, two Republican challengers who upset incumbents in the primary are now on the general election ballot, running unopposed: Bob Bendig, who beat out Supervisor Rob George for the district one seat, and Doug Backens, who beat out Supervisor James Vaughan for the district seven seat.

Additionally, District Court Judge John E. Samson, who covers Washington County is up for retention vote this year, as is County Court Judge Douglas L. Luebe

Outside of Fremont, there is a race for North Bend mayor between two newcomers, Tom Mullally and Dean T. Lux. Two candidates, Dan Minarick and Ken Streff, are running for North Bend City Council. Other city council races are occurring in Hooper, with candidates Paul D. Cash and Mike L. Hoff; and in Scribner, with candidates Joe Roberts and Carl Stockamp.

The Village of Inglewood has three candidates running for trustee positions: Kathy Rosenbach, Jerry Abrahamson and Greg L. Goree. Voters may choose up to three people to vote for. The Village of Nickerson has one candidate, Valjean Boies, running for trustee. And the Village of Uehling has a more packed trustee race with four candidates: James Menking, Tony Dallman, Stanley M. Rowe and Dick Orent. Voters for that race should choose up to two candidates to vote for.

The Villages of Dodge and Snyder each have three candidates for trustees, with voters asked to vote for up to two. Dodge will feature Todd A. Payton, Ben O. Burton and Leo E. Blaha. And in Snyder, it’s Jeffory W. Metschke, Joel D. Hunke and Terry Walker.

The Village of Winslow has one trustee candidate in Shawn Kotik.

The Scribner-Snyder School district has four candidates with voters asked to choose up to three: current board member Michael D. Fischer, Andrea, Vacha, Cory Schlueter and Aaron Lange.

There’s also a crowded field for the North Bend Public Schools Board of Education, with four candidates: Current board members Dan Wesely, Jeff Bauer and Jeff Peters as well as newcomer Justin Taylor. Voters are asked to select up to three. And in Arlington, there are five candidates: current board members Luanne Sundberg, Bruce Scheer, and newcomers Jason Arp, Janet Warner and Jessica Wollberg.

There’s also a race for the Metropolitan Community College Board of Governors At-Large: current member Ron Hug is up against Paul Anderson.

And several sub districts for the Lower Platte North Natural Resource District Board of Directors are up for grabs. Subdistrict one will see a race between Lon Olson and Leon Bracker. Subdistrict seven will see a race between Nancy Meier and Bruce L. Williams. Subdistrict eight will see a race between Roger Harders and Jerry Johnson. And subdistrict nine will see a race between Donald Veskerna and Helen Raikes.

The Lower Elkhorn Natural Resource District will see a race between Joel J. Hansen and Greg Owens for board of directors at large. And there’s another nonpolitical race for director in subdivision seven of the Omaha Public Power District, between Janece Mollhoff and Mick Mines.

Each township board in Dodge County has three seats, and two races have more than three candidates. In Maple Township, Jack L. Aspy, Alvin Kloke, Donald Paseka and Luke Kardell are running. And five candidates are up in Nickerson Township: Duane McKenzie, Alan L. Shanks, Nancy O’Connor, Jay Kment and Denise Richards. On ballots in township elections, voters are asked to select up to three candidates.


On the state level, Governor Pete Ricketts and his running mate, Lieutenant Governor Mike Foley face a challenge from a Democratic ticket consisting of Bob Krist and lieutenant governor candidate Lynne Walz, both current state senators, with Walz coming from Fremont.

Republican Bob Evnen and Democrat Spencer Danner are facing off for secretary of state, and Fremonter and Republican Charlie Janssen looks to defend his seat as state auditor against Democrat Jane Skinner.

Republican Sen. Deb Fischer faces challenges from Democrat Jane Raybould and Libertarian Jim Schultz, and Congressman Jeff Fortenberry, a Republican, attempts re-election against Democrat Jessica McClure.

Editor’s note: The Tribune will feature several local races leading up to the general election.


Load comments