Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Election 2014

Saunders County will have one new member on its board of supervisors.

Republican Larry Mach won the District 5 races over John Berggren, 770 votes to 320 votes, in Tuesday’s general election. Mach previously had won a four-person primary in May where incumbent Darren Martin was ousted.

Mach will join District 7 incumbent Leroy Hanson, a Republican, who downed Justin Cook 608-458 in the only other contested race for the county board.

David Lutton in District 1 and Craig Breunig in District 3 were unopposed.

Other Saunders County officials who were unopposed in the general election were Steven Twohig, who will be the new county attorney after winning the May primary; Patti Lindgren, clerk; Kevin Stukenholtz, sheriff; Cathy Gusman, assessor; Patt McEvoy, district court clerk; Jerry Charles, surveyor; Marilyn Kelley, treasurer; Thomas Klein, public defender; and Don Clark, register of deeds.

In another contested race in the county, it appears Christopher Lichtenberg’s write-in campaign for the Cedar Bluffs village board was successful. Jim Henry was the top vote-getter with 138, followed by Deborah Jensen with 127. Lichtenberg had more write-in votes than Nathan Williams’ 51, giving him the third spot that was open on the board.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

In Morse Bluff, Randal Kremlacek had 35 votes and Joe Zeleny had 30 to win seats on the village board. Lynden Rathke had 12 votes.

Claude Beck won the West Ward race for Yutan City Council, beating Kyle Winn 120-61. Beck will join Justin Long, who was unopposed in the East Ward, on the council. Darin Egr was unopposed for Yutan mayor.

Wahoo voters approved the continuation of the city’s local option sales tax, 819 votes to 520 votes.

In other Wahoo races, Loren Lindahl was unopposed for mayor as were council members Kevin Dunbar in Ward I, James Svoboda in Ward II and Stuart Krejci in Ward III.


Load comments