Subscribe for 17¢ / day

The 2018 Shrine Bowl will not be lacking players from the Fremont area.

The game, scheduled for 2 p.m. June 2 at the University of Nebraska at Kearney’s Cope Stadium, includes six players that earned Fremont Tribune All-Area honors.

Fremont High School teammates Riley Harms and Bergan Hofer are joined on the North squad by Dylan Kucera of Fremont Bergan.

UNK will be Harms’ new home. The Tribune All-Area offensive captain signed earlier this month to play football for the Lopers. He passed for 1,795 yards and 18 touchdowns while helping the Tigers advance to the Class A state playoffs.

The 6-foot-2 1/2, 290-pound Hofer earned various all-state honors last fall while playing on the Tigers’ offensive and defensive lines. He recently signed to play football at NCAA Division II Washburn University.

The 6-foot-3 Kucera is a multi-sport standout for the Knights. He medaled in the shot put and discus at last year’s state track meet and is also a starter for Coach Ryan Mlnarik’s basketball team.

In football, Kucera recorded 42 tackles as a member of the Knights’ defensive line. He was also a leader on the offensive line.

Colton Feist of Yutan, Dylan Egr of Wahoo High and Evan Welsh of Wahoo Neumann are also on the North squad.

Welsh, a 6-2, 260-pound lineman, was a consensus Class C-1 all-stater. Egr rushed for 2,788 yards and 40 touchdowns during his career for Coach Chad Fox. He committed earlier this year to Midland University.

Feist was the Tribune’s All-Area defensive captain. He led the Chieftains to the Class C-2 state championship and finished his senior season with 113 tackles, 13 sacks and 22 tackles for loss. He is walking on this fall at the University of Nebraska.

Yutan head coach Dan Krajicek will serve as an assistant for the North. Mike Huffman of Bellevue West is the head coach.

Kyle Peterson of Aurora will coach the South. One of his assistants will be Crete’s Reed Manstedt, a graduate of Midland University.

The South roster includes Spencer Hays of Douglas County West. He earned All-Area honorable mention recognition.

Shrine Bowl

SOUTH ROSTER: Dashwan Bates, Boys Town Drew Bessey, Palmyra Jaden Cover, Millard West Tijah Davis, Boys Town Connor Fee, Gretna Jackson Gilbert, Bellevue East Jackson Gordon, Omaha Skutt Jalen Harris, Omaha Central Hunter Hays, McCook Spencer Hays, DC West A.J. Johnson, Millard West Jacob Johnson, Fairbury Joey Johnson, Gretna Brett Kaiser, Kearney Catholic Wyatt Kee, Gibbon Masry Mapieu, York Matt Masker, Kearney Catholic Noah McCashland, Lincoln Pius X Noah Menses, Plattsmouth Zack Muff, Crete Nathan Murray, Kearney Cal Naber, Aurora Simone Otte, York Dylan Plautz, Omaha Westside Garret Schardt, BDS Zack Schlager, McCook Caleb Schwiegart, Omaha Westside Bryce Stai, Norris Isaiah Stalbird, Kearney Dan Sunderman, Millard South Bronson Titus, Holdrege Adam Wasserman, Fairbury Jonah Weyand, Crete Gus Woeppel, Norris Cole Young, Papillion-La Vista South *Caleb Marlatt, Elmwood-Murdock (unable to play due to injury).

Coaches: Head coach—Kyle Peterson, Aurora assistant coaches—Reed Manstedt, Crete Rashawn Harvey, Kearney Catholic Ryan Kearney, Lincoln Pius X Wade Miller, Seward Tim Elge, Aurora.

NORTH ROSTER: Moses Bryant, Elkhorn South Brian Covarrubias, Grand Island Darnel Davis, Omaha Burke Joe Dolincheck, Bellevue West Brandon Eastlack, Millard North Dylan Egr, Wahoo Colton Feist, Yutan AJ Forbes, Bellevue West Dylan Gentrup, Boone Central Drake Gilliland, Mitchell Coby Haas, Sidney Riley Harms, Fremont Trevor Havlovic, East Butler Bergan Hofer, Fremont Jonah Housh, Lincoln North Star Vernon Johnson, Omaha North Kohlton Ketzer, Grand Island Bryson Krull, North Platte Dylan Kucera, Fremont Bergan Grant Kwapnioski, Elkhorn Wyatt Liewer, O’Neill Alex Lindsay, Pierce Grant Matthies, Creighton Prep Zion Perry, Lincoln High Carson Pilkington, Elkhorn South Kooper Reece, Valentine Andrew Reiner, Omaha Burke Milton Sargbah, Omaha North Ryan Schommer, Norfolk DJ Stephen, Valentine Jesse Sullivan, Boone Central Marcus Vaughn-Jones, Creighton Prep Nolan Viergutz, Columbus Lakeview Jacob Wageman, Bennington Evan Welsh, Bishop Neumann.

Coaches: Head coach—Mike Huffman, Bellevue West assistant coaches—Andrew Christensen, Fort Calhoun Tim Williams, Waverly Dan Krajicek, Yutan Ted Hennings, Creighton Prep Mike Pokorski, Bellevue West.


Sports Editor

Load comments