Wahoo Wrestlers' Sam Kolterman and Jack Sutton, 1.9

Sam Kolterman, left, and Jack Sutton of Wahoo High School were selected to play in the Shrine Bowl scheduled for June 1 at Cope Stadium on the University of Nebraska at Kearney campus. 

It has been a good February for Fremont High School senior Jackson Ritchhart.

Earlier this month, the 6-foot-4, 300-pound senior, signed to play football for the University of Nebraska at Kearney. On Tuesday, it was announced that he was selected to play in the 2019 Shrine Bowl.

The annual game is scheduled for June 1 at Cope Stadium on the UNK campus.

Ritchhhart, a center for the Tigers, will play for the North team that will be coached by Paul Limongi of Omaha Burke. Glen Snodgrass of York will direct the South team.

Ritchhart was a Fremont Tribune All-Area selection as a senior. He helped pave the way for running back Cody Carlson setting FHS single-season records for rushing yards (1,200) and rushing touchdowns (14).

“Jackson paved the way for Cody’s record-breaking season,” Fremont coach Seth McClain said. “He was a road grader.”

Three other Tribune All-Area selections will compete for the North.

Caden Johnson, a 6-3, 245-pound defensive end from Wahoo Neumann, was the All-Area captain on defense. The South Dakota State signee finished with 36 solo tackles and 57 assists while helping the Cavaliers advance to the semifinals of the Class C-1 state football playoffs.

“He was one of our best ever,” said Neumann coach Tim Turman, who announced his retirement from coaching in December.

“He was a dominating blocker on offense and he was just relentless as a defensive end.”

Wahoo High teammates Jack Sutton and Sam Kolterman were also selected for the North.

Sutton, a 6-3, 240-pound lineman, had 63 tackles with seven tackles for loss. He also had four sacks and forced a fumble.

Kolterman, at linebacker, had 101 stops. He finished with seven tackles for loss, seven sacks and also blocked two kicks.

Limongi will be assisted by Blake Beebout of Valentine, Brock Eichelberger of O’Neill, Chris Seebohm of Alliance, and Ben Ryan and Andy Schatzberg of Burke.

Snodgrass will be assisted by Matt Maltsberger and Matt Kern of the Dukes, Jamie Opfer of Seward, Kam Lenhart of Fairbury and Eric Ryan of Overton.

Shrine Bowl Rosters

NORTH TEAM — Kodjo Atikphou, Grand Island. Ryan Bena, Omaha Creighton Prep. Koby Brandenburg, Central City. Mehki Butler, Omaha North. Cedric Case, Lincoln High. Tyler Chadwick, Omaha Burke. Connor Cowling, Norfolk. Jackson Creek, Millard North. Shane Dailey, Jr., Bellevue West. Sid DeMayo, Elkhorn Mount Michael. Lane Edis, Mullen. Grayson Garey, Broken Bow. Trenton Harbor, Gothenburg. Jack Hasz, Omaha Creighon Prep. Jacob Herbek, Grand Island Central Catholic. Mason Hiemstra, Alliance. Garrett Hustedt, Elkhorn Mount Michael. Cooper Jewett, Elkhorn South. Caden Johnson, Wahoo Neumann. Chris Jones, Lincoln High. Rhett Jordan, Waverly. Kaden Kneifl, Wayne. Sam Kolterman, Wahoo. Quincy Nichols, Blair. Steven Krawczyk, Omaha North. Lane McGinley, Valentine. Robert Pentecost, Papillion-La Vista. Luke Reimer, Lincoln North Star. Keegan Reitschneider, Scottsbluff. Jackson Ritchhart, Fremont High. Alex Rodgers, Omaha Roncalli. Dylan Sales, Omaha Burke. Logan Schuelke, Waverly. Sam Sims, Grand Island. Jack Sutton, Wahoo. Joe Teten, Norfolk Catholic. Jesse Ulrich, Ord.

SOUTH TEAM — Cole Aniello, Millard West. Edwen Baptista, Friend. Quinn Butzke, Centennial. Hunter Chilton, Gretna. John Christensen, Bruning-Davenport. Baily Darnell, Auburn. Jaiden Davis, Lincoln Southeast. Joe Dworak, Lincoln Pius X. Jarod Epperson, Omaha Skutt. Colin Giron, McCook. Taevyn Grixby, Lincoln Southwest. D.J. Gross, McCook. Tyson Guzman, Omaha Westside. Gabe Heins, Kearney. Jackson Hirschfeld, Centennial. Torrence Jackson, Omaha Central. Austin Jablonski, Lincoln Pius X. Joseph Krause, Seward. Nick Leader, Lincoln Southwest. Alex Lewis, Omaha South. Jayden Merriman, Millard South. Mike McClanahan, Papillion-La Vista South. Brayden Miller, Kearney. Riley Moses, Fillmore Central. Chase Norblade, Papillion LaVista South. Nouredin Nouili, Norris. Garrett Nuss, Sutton. Caden Opfer, Gretna. Lucas Paloucek, Ogallala. Cade Reichardt, Aurora. PJ Schaben, Seward. Barrett Sellon, Lincoln East. Braden Sellon, Lincoln East. Garrett Snodgrass, York. Noah Stafursky, York. Jack Towne, Millard South. Landon Weber, Adams Central. T.J. Skradski, Omaha Skutt

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments