Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Stanley Morgan and JD Spielman put together the most productive season of any Nebraska wide receiving duo in history.

On Wednesday, they were honored for that production, earning spots on the Associated Press’ All-Big Ten second team.

Morgan, a second-team receiver, caught a team-best 61 passes for a school-record 986 yards and hauled in a conference-best 10 touchdowns. The junior from New Orleans averaged 16.2 yards per reception, making him one of the most dangerous big-play threats in the league. He set a Husker record with five 100-plus yard receiving games.

Spielman earned second-team recognition as an all-purpose player on the AP list. The redshirt freshman from Eden Prairie, Minnesota caught 55 passes in his first collegiate season, good for 830 yards and a pair of touchdowns. He also had the Huskers’ longest rushing play of the season on a 40-yard jet sweep and took his first career kick return 99 yards for a touchdown against Arkansas State.

Spielman only eclipsed 50 receiving yards once in the team’s first five games but then averaged 105.7 per game over his final six before missing the season finale against Iowa due to a shoulder injury.

Spielman finished third in the Big Ten in all-purpose yards, averaging 142.9 per game.

The first-team wide receivers on the AP list were Maryland junior D.J. Moore, who had 1,033 yards and eight touchdowns on 80 catches, and Indiana’s SImmie Cobbs (72 receptions, 841 yards, eight touchdowns).

Penn State junior running back Saquon Barkley was the first-team all-purpose player, as well as a first-team running back and the AP’s offensive player of the year.

Iowa senior linebacker Josey Jewell was named defensive player of the year. Wisconsin accounted for two others, as head coach Paul Chryst was named coach of the year and freshman running back Jonathan Taylor was named newcomer of the year.

Contact the writer at or 402-473-7439. On Twitter @HuskerExtraPG.


Load comments