NU Basketball Practice, 07.02.2018

Nebraska's Dachon Burke calls for the ball while running through a play at a workout at Hendricks Training Complex in July 2018.

It evidently takes exactly one month to flip a college basketball roster.

In the 33 days from the time the Nebraska men's basketball team hosted its first official visitors after hiring Fred Hoiberg, and the commitment of Samari Curtis on Wednesday, the NU coaching staff has almost completely rolled over the the lineup the Huskers will put on the floor in 2019-20. First, it was the commitment of forward Kevin Cross late Monday night. Then, prior to Curtis' announcement, Tennessee transfer Derrick Walker joined the list. With the two Wednesday commitments, Nebraska has one more player than allowed on the roster, pending Isaiah Roby's decision. 

It's been a lot to take in, and even more to keep track of. Here's a breakdown of Nebraska's roster as it currently stands:


16 (14 scholarship, 2 walk-on)

Seniors: Isaiah Roby, Haanif Cheatham, Matej Kavas.

Juniors: Thorir Thorbjarnarson, Dachon Burke, Jervay Green, Shamiel Stevenson, Derrick Walker.

Sophomores: Dalano Banton (redshirt), Cam Mack.

Freshmen: Akol Arop, Yvan Ouedraogo, Kevin Cross, Samari Curtis, Jace Piatkowski (walk-on), Charlie Easley (walk-on).


Seniors: Isaiah Roby.

Juniors: Thorir Thorbjarnarson, Dachon Burke.


Grad transfers: Haanif Cheatham, Matej Kavas.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Juco transfers: Jervay Green (junior); Cam Mack (sophomore).

Sit-out transfers: Shamiel Stevenson (eligible in December); Dalano Banton (eligible in 2020), Derrick Walker (eligible in 2020).

Freshmen: Akol Arop, Yvan Ouedraogo, Samari Curtis, Kevin Cross, Jace Piatkowski (walk-on), Charlie Easley (walk-on).


Expired eligibility: James Palmer, Isaac Copeland, Glynn Watson, Tanner Borchardt.

Graduation: Johnny Trueblood (walk-on).

Transfer: Thomas Allen, Nana Akenten, Amir Harris, Karrington Davis, Brady Heiman, Justin Costello (walk-on).


13: The total number of official visitors Nebraska hosted between the Spring Game on April 14 and this week.

9: The number of those official visitors who committed to the Huskers. That number includes Jervay Green and 2020 recruit D’Andre Davis, who reaffirmed earlier commitments to NU.

2: Official visitors who haven’t yet made a college decision. UNLV transfer Joel Ntambwe and Oklahoma State transfer Maurice Calloo have yet to announce where they will play basketball next season.

5: Number of countries represented on Nebraska’s roster. The Huskers have players from Iceland (Thorbjarnarson), Slovenia (Kavas), France (Ouedraogo), Canada (Banton, Stevenson) and the United States. Eight states are represented.

33: Number of days between the first official visits and Nebraska’s most recent commitment from Samari Curtis Wednesday afternoon.

A look at the Nebraska basketball scholarship chart

2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24
Isaiah Roby (SR) Thorir Thorbjarnarson Cam Mack Dalano Banton Donovan Williams
Haanif Cheatham (SR) Jervay Green Shamiel Steveson Akol Arop D'Andre Davis
Matej Kavas (SR) Dachon Burke Dalano Banton Yvan Ouedraogo
Dachon Burke (JR) Cam Mack Akol Arop Kevin Cross
Thorir Thorbjarnarson (JR) Dalano Banton Yvan Ouedraogo Donovan Williams
Jervay Green (JR) Shamiel Stevenson Kevin Cross D'Andre Davis
Cam Mack (SO) Akol Arop Donovan Williams Charlie Easley
Dalano Banton (RS) Yvan Ouedraogo D'Andre Davis Jace Piatkowski
Shamiel Stevenson (SO) Kevin Cross Charlie Easley Samari Curtis
Akol Arop (FR) Donovan Williams (FR) Jace Piatkowski
Yvan Ouedraogo (FR) D'Andre Davis (FR) Derrick Walker
Kevin Cross (FR) Charlie Easley Samari Curtis
Charlie Easley (Walk-on) Jace Piatowski
Jace Piatkowski (Walk-on) Derrick Walker
Derrick Walker (RS) Samari Curtis
Samari Curtis (FR)

Be the first to know - Sign up for Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Reach the writer at 402-473-7436 or cbasnett@journalstar.com. On Twitter @HuskerExtraCB.


Load comments