Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Team “E” took top honors on Saturday night during the 34th Annual Craig Spilinek Fremont High School Alumni Run.

Event organizer Sean McMahon puts the various classes on teams that are four years apart. For example, Team “”E included graduates from the classes of 2017, 2013, 2009, 2005, etc.

Team “E” had six of the top seven finishers. Andrew Jacob, a 2005 FHS graduate, won the 5K race in 16:31. Brock Hegarty and Jack Schulz, 2017 graduates, were second and third, respectively, in 16:39 and 16:40.

Preston Decker (16:52), Tito Gonzalez (16:55) and Sage Reiger (16:58) of the Class of 2017 were 5-6-7.

Team “T” was second. Jacob Klein of the Class of 2014 led the way by placing eighth in 17:11. Aaron McCoy (Class of 2010) was 10th in 17:29. Brock Lehman (Class of 1998) was 12th in 17:38.

Joe Coil was the top visitor to finish. He was fourth in 16:47. Kayla (Fenske) Rehmeier was the top female alumni finisher. She was 19th overall in 19:30. Visitor Rebecca McMahon was second for the women — and 25th overall — in 20:42.

Deb Eggleston (18:46) and Holly Ludvigsen (19:36) were first and second, respectively, in the two-mile race.

In the boys’ 18-and-under division, CJ Martinez won the 5K in 16:16. Ben Schulz was second in 16:33 while Wes Ferguson (16:51) and Ross McMahon (17:00) were third and fourth, respectively.

For the girls, Karla Zavala led the way in 20:04. Alex Sasse was second in 20:05 while Avery McKennan was third in 20:06. Myia Johnson placed fourth in 20:08, followed by Avery Decker (22:38).

Mikey Saxton was the boys’ two-mile champion in 13:24 while Jasmine Pearl Goslin led the girls in 18:04.


Sports Editor

Load comments