Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Nighthawks 12U

Members of the Fremont Nighthawks 12U AAA state championship team, front row, from left, are: Charlie Richmond, Dawson Pruss, Landon Lamson, Landon Schurman, Jake Wright, Ryder Winn and Brooks Eyler. In the middle row, from left, are: Colin Ridder, Ryan Dix, Colbey Butts, Nate Jones and Coulter Fritz. In the back row are coaches Matt Ridder, Rich Eyler, Trent Winn and Brett Richmond.

GRAND ISLAND — A slow start didn’t hinder the Fremont Nighthawks 12U team recently during the AAA State Baseball Tournament.

After going 0-1-1 in pool play, Fremont won four straight in bracket competition to capture the state championship.

The Nighthawks tied the Hastings Bluebirds 3-3 before falling 15-12 to the Waverly Riptide Blue in pool play.

The Nighthawks got on their winning streak in the opener of bracket play. Coulter Fritz and Nate Jones combined on a one-hit shutout as Fremont defeated Bennington Badger Blue 4-0.

Landon Lamson and Jake Wright had clutch two-out hits and two RBI to pace the offense.

The Nighthawks then defeated the Grand Island Bandits 7-1 as Charlie Richmond and Colbey Butts had two hits apiece. Pitchers Ryan Dix and Ryder Winn combined to just give up three hits.

Fremont then faced the NBA Titans 12-8 in the semifinals as Dix delivered three hits and knocked in four runs. Brooks Eyler contributed two hits and two RBI. Eight other Nighthawks had at least one hit.

Fritz, Dix and Winn all saw action on the mound.

The victory advanced Fremont to the the championship game against the Hastings Brickyard Bombers. Dix had three hits and three RBI as the Nighthawks prevailed 9-7.

Nate Jones and Dawson Pruss added two hits apiece.

Dix, Jones and Winn all pitched in the championship game.

Coach Brett Richmond said that in addition to solid pitching and timely hitting, the Nighthawks also played well defensively throughout the tournament.

Team members of the Nighthawks include: Butts, Dix, Eyler, Fritz, Jones, Lamson, Pruss, Colin Ridder, Charlie Richmond, Landon Schurman, Winn and Wright.

Matt Ridder, Trent Winn and Rich Eyler also served as coaches with Brett Richmond.


Sports Editor

Load comments