Subscribe for 17¢ / day
St. Pat's champions

The Fremont St. Patrick’s junior high football team completed an undefeated season recently by defeating St. Robert Bellarmine 46-0. The Knights won their first Parochial Athletic League championship in 26 years.

The Fremont St. Patrick’s Junior High football team went undefeated and captured their first Parochial Athletic League championship in 26 years with a 46-0 win recently over St. Robert Bellarmine.

The Knights scored on their opening drive when Gavin Logemann hauled in a 24-yard screen pass from Koa McIntyre.

With more than 2 minutes left in the half, McIntyre connected with Sam Sleister on a 67-yard pass play that carried to the St. Robert’s 4. McIntyre scored on the next play to make it 12-0.

On St. Robert’s next possession, Cal Janke intercepted a pass. McIntyre took advantage of the turnover by connecting with Lucas Pruss on a 15-yard TD to make it 18-0 at halftime.

Early in the third quarter, McIntyre threw a touchdown pass to Sleister. Another McIntyre rushing touchdown followed by Janke’s 34-yard touchdown pass to Logemann made it 40-0 entering the final quarter.

Josiah Meyer finished the scoring by intercepting a St. Robert’s pass and returning 30 yards for a touchdown.

Meyer, Janke, Alex Painter, Shaye Hoyle and Logemann led the defense. The Knights only allowed 57 points through nine games. They forced 26 turnovers and scored twice defensively.

St. Pat’s finished with more than 3,500 yards in total offense, scored 60 touchdowns and finished with 424 points.

The five quarterbacks who took snaps this season combined to complete 102 passes for 1,471 yards, 29 touchdowns and only eight interceptions.

Painter and Lucas Pruss finished with seven receiving touchdowns while 10 receivers finished with at least 9 yards a reception.

St. Pat’s also rushed for more than 2,000 yards with McIntyre surpassing 800 yards. Painter and Chris Pinales averaged more than 14 yards a carry.

Other players included: Cooper Weitzel, Owen Pruss, Isaac Herink, Griffen Helgenberger, Ed Utesch, Tyler Allen, Caden Arps, Kade McIntyre, Jarett Boggs, Carson Ortmeier, Aiden Helgenberger, Ashton Kempf, Caleb Herink, Zelan Hurst, Aaron Fellers and Nicholas Gomez.

The Knights were coached by Curtis Marolf, Nate Pribnow and Jeff Waters.


Sports Editor

Load comments